MD Swimming Hall of Fame Class of 2017 Announced

03 Feb MD Swimming Hall of Fame Class of 2017 Announced

Maryland Swimming Hall of Fame Announces the Class of 2017.
Maryland Swimming Incorporated, the Local Swim Committee of United States Swimming, which includes all of the State of Maryland with the exception of Montgomery and Prince George’s Counties, announces the 4 newest members of its Hall of Fame.
Maryland Swimming’s Hall of Fame began in 1985 and has 47 members. This year’s induction class includes one swimmer and three coaches. A luncheon will be held Saturday, May 6, 2017 at the Bryn Mawr Fieldhouse 5602 Cottonworth Avenue in Mt. Washington.
KATIE HOFF ANDERSON is a two time world record holder, 12 time World Championship medalist, 3 time Olympic Medalist, 14 time US National Champion, 18 time American Record Holder. Specializing in middle to long distance Freestyle Races and both the 200 and 400 Individual Medley, Hoff dominated the competition in the mid 2000’s. Katie made her first Olympic Team at age 15 swimming for NBAC and competed in Athens in 2004 in both Individual Medley races. Named the USOC Female Athlete of the Year in 2005 and 2007, Katie was USA Swimming’s Female Swimmer of the Year from 2005 through 2007. Katie won a silver and two bronze medals in Beijing in 2008. Katie competed for teams in California and Florida before retiring from competitive swimming in 2015.
DON FEINBERG is a coach who has left an indelible mark in Frederick County. Feinberg set a record for consecutive public high school wins – 136 – at Frederick High School, serves as the Head Men’s and Women’s Coach at Hood College, and worked as the Head Age Group Coach at Monocacy Aquatic Club (MAC) from 1981-1988, Head Coach from 1988-2000 and still coaches there to this day. Don has coached one junior national champion and two Olympic trial qualifiers, one of which, Beau Wiebel, place 6th in the 200IM and 400IM and achieved a world ranking of 7th for the 1999-2000 season and a Gold Medal at World University Games. In 2001, Don was inducted into the Frederick County sports Hall of Fame for his achievements as an athlete and coach.
GEORGE KENNEDY is the recently retired Head Coach at Johns Hopkins University. During his 31 year tenure at Hopkins, Coach Kennedy was 7 times NCAA Division III Coach of the Year. Kenndy’s swimmers have won 31 NCAA titles. Kennedy led his swimmers to 24 Conference titles. He was part of the 28 consecutice conference titles won by the Hopkins mens squad from 1971-1998, a streak that is tied for third longest streak in any sport in Division III history. Coach Kennedy has been able to attract athletes who excel both in the pool and in the classroom at Hopkins. Beloved by his swimmers, Coach Kennedy’s influence was noted by inclusion in Fortune Magazine’s list of “The World’s 50 Greatest Leaders” in 2014.
PAUL YETTER is the current Senior Coach at North Baltimore Aquatic Club. Coach Yetter is 7-time member of USA Swimming’s National Team Coaching Staff, Paul has represented the USA as an Assistant Coach at the 2008 Olympic Games, the 2007 Japan Open, the 2006 Pan Pacific Championships, and the 2005 World Championships. Additionally, Paul has served as the Head Women’s Coach of the 2007 Pan American Games, and most recently as the Head Men’s Coach for the USA’s Youth World Championship Team at the 2013 Youth World Championships in Dubai, U.E. Yetter was Katie Hoff’s coach in 2004 when she qualified for the Athens Olympics at age 15, and again in 2008 when she qualified for the Beijing Olympics. From 2005-2008, under Yetter’s guidance Hoff set 2 Long Course World Records and 18 American Records, while earning 3 Individual Olympic Medals and 6 World Championship Gold Medals. During the 2007-2008 season, Hoff set at least 1 American Record in 9 different events. In 2007, Coach Yetter was honored as Developmental Coach of the Year USA Swimming and USOC Developmental Coach of the Year for all Olympic Sports.
For additional information or to attend the Induction Luncheon, contact Maryland Swimming Hall of Fame Chair John Cadigan at

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.